Knelston

Nestled in the heart of Gower at the foot of Cefn Bryn is the much sought after property location of Knelston and neighbouring Reynoldston.  The hamlet Knelston is surrounded by farmland and just  5-10 minutes drive away from Gower beaches, Oxwich, Horton, Port Eynon; the secluded Mewslade and Fall Bay; and the grand Rhossili.

Not much is known of the early history of Knelston, but it was most likely occupied during the Bronze Age, evident from the three standing stones that remain here.  One of these is a large, impressive stone, known as Knelston Standing Stone - a roughly triangular standing stone 2.2m high by 2.2m and 0.6m thick.

Knelston Standing Stone

Burry Menhir and Burry Lesser Stone both stand close to the west and east perimeters of a field previously known as Sheep Lays.  A map from 1784 shows the placement of two additional stones that once made an avenue alignment with Burry Lesser Stone. ["A vanished alignment of standing-stones" by Bernard Morris]

Just a field away from Knelston Standing Stone, beside Knelston Hall Farm, lay the ruins of a Medieval village church, hidden by ivy and trees. The original old Welsh name for the church and area was Llan y Tayre Mayre (Llan y Tair Mair/Church of the Three Marys), later dedicated to St. Maurice and St. Mary.  Built during the 12th century the church building had fallen into disuse by the 17th century, though the grounds continued to serve as a burial site until the 18th century.  Just the foundations and rubble of mortar and stone is left behind.

Llan y Tair Mair

{zhgooglemap:1}

Providence Baptist Chapel and manse were built in 1858 and became the centre for Baptist missionary work in Glamorgan under the Rev JG Phillips and Rev David Evans. Today the buildings have been reclaimed as unique self-catering accommodation.

Knelston Old Chapel

Share Gower

primi sui motori con e-max.it

Book Swansea accommodation